Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Motown Gospel Presents ‘1 Mic 1 Take’ Live at Capitol Studios featuring Tasha Cobbs, Smokie Norful, Brian Courtney Wilson, Myron Butler & Levi and Newcomer Royce Lovett

1Mic1Take_FinalCoverArtMotown Gospel presents 1 Mic 1 Take, recorded live at Capitol Studios in Hollywood, CA.  1 Mic 1 Take will be available at retail and digital outlets everywhere on Friday, June 3rd. The ten-song acoustic gospel compilation includes five of Motown Gospel artists performing two songs—stripped of mass production to focus on the message and the voice. Many selections are already popular while others are receiving a well-deserved shot for wider exposure. The participants include GRAMMY®-winners Smokie Norful and Tasha Cobbs as well as award-winning artists Myron Butler & Levi, Brian Courtney Wilson and newcomer Royce Lovett.

1 Mic 1 Take is a concept that Blue Note Records president and super producer Don Was (under parent company EMI-Capitol) spearheaded initially as one-off promotional-only clips to highlight the legitimacy and vibrancy of the label’s acts by showcasing their vocal and song craft talents in naked, unadorned forms. In the world of pop music this can be revealing. In the world of Gospel music, it’s a revelation—offering kinetic alternatives for praise and prayer of favorite songs. Call them divinity remixes.  See preview of 1 Mic 1 Take featuring Don Was:

Motown Gospel Presents 1 Mic 1 Take marks the first time such a project has been created for purchase to the public. The ten-song album will be released both physically and digitally plus a deluxe edition will include four high definition videos—all recorded in Hollywood’s hallowed and landmark Capitol Studios. “Putting world class artists in a legendary room performing their signature songs with scaled back production doesn’t present itself often,” says, Larry Blackwell, Vice President and General Manager of Motown Gospel. “I believe the artists captured the fundamental essence of our genre with their soulful performances.”

In sequence order, the compilation opens with Brian Courtney Wilson’s GRAMMY-nominated titled track “Worth Fighting For,” which also earned him both Dove and Billboard Award nominations. The compilation continues with Tasha Cobbs’ “For Your Glory,” her second single from her GRAMMY-nominated and chart-topping album, Grace. Multiple Stellar Award-winning artist Myron Butler & Levi’s “Nobody Like Our God” is featured from his new studio album, On Purpose. The majestic call and response praise and worship number is performed to piano, backing vocals and snare drums accompaniment. Singer and songwriter Royce Lovett performs “Write It On The Wall.” He dubs the music he takes all around the world as Cerebral Soul. “Write it On The Wall” is the title track of his debut EP (following six self-released projects with titles such as Ought-ism and Acoustic Incentive). Co-penned with Nate Butler, Matt Armstrong and Bryan Fowler, the song is performed here by Royce to guitar accompaniment only. Wilson’s second offering, the guitar driven “Mindful,” also featured on Wilson’s Worth Fighting For project is a heart-stilling declaration about staying the course to grow ever-closer to the Lord. Butler’s title-track “On Purpose” is the introspective jazz-tinged song on Butler’s latest album, beautifully rendered with piano, drums and support vocals. Lovett’s “Say Something (Sasha)” is a catchy reggae pop song (co-penned with Nate Butler) that finds him reaching out to a girl in need of Christ in her life. He incorporates singing and rapping to fervently get his point across in this touching performance that he closes a cappella with finger snaps. Smokie Norful’s brilliantly written “Imperfect Me” (co-penned with Antonio Dixon, Habsen Jones, Harold Lilly & Demonte Posey) is sung solely to piano accompaniment. It was originally recorded on his chart-topping album, Forever Yours.  Cobbs’ “Jesus Saves” is her self-penned rock solid comfort song first introduced on her One Place Live album from 2015. 1 Mic 1 Take closes with Norful’s “Forever Yours,” the title track (co-penned with Antonio Dixon and Demonte Posey) from Norful’s latest 2014 album, bridging soul music with sacred gospel.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



You May Also Like