Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Deitrick Haddon & Kelly Price Performs at The 24th Annual Trumpet Awards Co-Hosted By Film Stars Nia Long & Terrence J

trumpet-awards-nia-long-terrence-j-paras-griffinThe Trumpet Awards Foundation and title sponsor American Family Insurance present the 24th Annual Trumpet Awards, to celebrate and honor history-making entertainment, humanitarian, political and philanthropic individuals. “The Best Man” and ABC sitcom “Uncle Buck” actress Nia Long and “Think Like A Man Too” and “The Perfect Match” star Terrence J, will host the black-tie ceremony, to be held at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, Georgia on Saturday, January 23, 2016. The 24th Annual Trumpet Awards will premiere on Bounce TV on Friday, January 29th at 9:00 p.m. (ET) and also air in over 75 markets nationwide.

Among the prestigious list of individual honorees at this year’s ceremony include:

  •     “The Visionary Award”: GRAMMY® Award winning artist Ne-Yo
  •     “Entertainment Award”: Television and film producer Will Packer
  •     “Legend Award”: Legendary comedian and actor George Wallace
  •     “Political Leadership Award”: Special tribute to the African American Women in the United States Congress
  •     “Corporate Executive of the Year Award”: Alicia Boler-Davis, Vice President of Global Connected Customer Experience for General Motors
  •      “Education Award”: Dr. Curtis Ivery, Chancellor of Wayne Community College District in Michigan
  •     “The Phoenix Award”: Alexis M. Herman, Former Secretary of Labor and Chair & CEO of New Ventures
  •     “Global Humanitarian Award”: HRH Princess Basmah Bint Saud, International Humanitarian

Award-winning and celebrated presenters include actors Regina Hall; Michael Ealy; Bryshere “Yazz” Gray; Clifton Powell; Christian Keys; R&B recording artist Al B. Sure and journalist Ed Gordon; among many others.

Kicking-off the show will be a special tribute performance to the iconic group Salt-N-Pepa, celebrating their 30-year anniversary in hip-hop. The tribute will feature special performances by Salt-N-Pepa, as well as with rappers MC Lyte, Yo-Yo and Monie Love.

Other performers gracing the stage at this year’s milestone show will include R&B and jazz singer Andra Day; R&B singer-songwriters Vivian Green; Kelly Price; Joe; Raheem DeVaughn and gospel singer Deitrick Haddon.

The Trumpet Awards was conceived, founded, and nurtured by Ms. Xernona Clayton, who has built the Awards and Trumpet Awards Foundation into a renowned testimonial around the world. “We have come so far since we started this project in 1993 and I am extremely appreciative to those individuals who saw the vision and who have worked with us for over twenty years. We are most jubilant to bring this event to the world and to celebrate the achievements of those who had an impact on our community,” says Ms. Clayton.

The support of corporate sponsors is vital to helping make the production of the Trumpet Awards possible; presenting sponsor American Family Insurance, and other major corporate partners include: FedEx, Delta Air Lines, Cadillac, Nordstrom, The Coca-Cola Company, Home Depot, Turner Construction and MGM. The red carpet will be sponsored by Carnival Corporation.

For more information about past honorees, presenters, performers, and information about The Trumpet Awards Foundation, visit

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



You May Also Like